I know this is an old note, but when I did a search, it was the most appropriate.
Last night I worked a women's slo-pitch game. With runner on 1B, batter singled to RF. Ball retrieved and thrown in to F4. At this point R1 is on second and BR was a couple of feet off first.
Since I considered the play was apparently over, I called time. Just as I did, F4 threw the ball over F1's head. Runners take off, defense is chasing the ball down. Once we got everyone to stop, coach goes on a rant about his runners were still moving and the pitcher wasn't on the "mound".
I tried explaining it to him, but he said he was an umpire. So I guess I was to infer that he knows it all, being both and umpire AND a coach.
Maybe when you stand in the 3B coaching box, you lose something?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
|