James,
That just goes to show you, a brain is a frightening thing without a rule book. Next time I'll have mine at my side when answering your questions.
About the first play:
1a). A1 is running at the A-35 when he leaps to catch a legal pass. While airborne he possesses the ball at the A-35, before he comes down he is contacted by B1 and the ball comes loose. A1, still airborne, regains control of the ball at the A-34, and contacts the ground on the A-33 where he is immediately tackled...
I still can't quite join you on giving A the ball at the A-35. What if A had run and made progress to the A-35 and just before his progress was stopped, he fumbled and recovered the ball at the A-33? I believe your logic on the pass is that since A had possession, momentarily lost it, and then regained possession before contacting the ground, that the loss of possession is irrelevant. I respectfully disagree and believe that the loss of possession (either in the air or on the ground) changes the disposition of the play.
Anyway, thanks for the quiz and the feedback.
|