Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
And THAT says that if you were to call a foul on White #22, then you would ignore the elbow...
|
But...I already said I wouldn't call a foul on White #22 so that point is pretty much moot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The problem with that argument is that he was moving to a new position on the floor...and one to which he was not entitled by any rule.
|
Part of NFHS 4-23-1 says every player is entitled to a spot on the floor. And I know the rest: provided they get there first without illegally contacting an opponent. If it's judged that White #22 didn't commit a foul it follows that, in my eyes, he got there without illegally contacting an opponent so he's entitled to that spot.
I think that's where the whole "no call" argument goes away - for me. To say it's a no call, then by definition both players got to the spot without making illegal contact. Fine. The next step, then, is Blue #1's elbow which, IMO, is definitely illegal contact so that's my foul call.