Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
And people wonder why this gets screwed up. Well, I wonder how in the world this can get screwed up.
The double-base only applies when there is a play on the BR. 8.2.M
The BR must use the colored portion, the defense must use the white.
Two, AND JUST TWO exceptions:
1) If the throw or play to first is coming from foul territory on the right side, or
2) If a throw from another part of the field draws the defender into foul territory.
In the case where one of the two exceptions occur, the BR may, MAY use either portion of the base.
|
That doesn't answer his question at all. I know not to put words in your mouth, but if this is your answer, you're obviously implying something and leaving us to guess. If you're saying this answers his question, this leads me to believe (guess, really) that you are saying that in the following scenario, the BR must still use the colored portion of the bag.
Ball is fielded by or thrown to F3, who is not yet on the bag. F3, with the ball, runs to the bag, crosses in front of the runner and touches the COLORED portion of the bag. Does runner have to touch the colored part still, or can he/she go to the white?
I see at least 3 ways to justify allowing BR to touch white in this case (not to mention the intent of the base in the first place), but if you are simply quoting the rule and saying that answers the question, without explaining the interpretation of that rule, it sound like you're saying BR must still go to the colored portion.
Please correct whatever assumption I've made that is wrong.