View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2012, 11:39am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigda65 View Post
RH batter (his dugout on the same side).
Batter swings and misses on third strike. Catcher misses, and the ball ends up in the lefthand batters box @ corner where foul line meets.

The batter takes a step toward his dugout, then turns and runs and contact is made with catcher.

What would the call be for three different scenarios
1) Catcher in the process of getting to the ball
2) Catcher has the ball
3) Catcher in the process of throwing the ball
The Fisk/Armbrister play illustrates tangle/untangle at the plate.

Rule 7.09(j) Comment: When a catcher and batter-runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding the ball, there is generally no violation and nothing should be called. “Obstruction” by a fielder attempting to field a ball should be called only in very flagrant and violent cases because the rules give him the right of way, but of course such “right of way” is not a license to, for example, intentionally trip a runner even though fielding the ball.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote