Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man
Never?
What about this play. R1 & R2. On a ground ball between first and second, F6 obstructs. Meanwhile, F4 scoops up the ball and tags out R1.
Why should R1 be safe when she was never obstructed and the obstruction never affected where she ended up?
|
I think you mean R2 was tagged out by F4. This would be a DDB and the play allowed to finish. R1 cannot be called out between 2nd & 3rd unless due to an exception to the OBS rule. The BR can still be put out and there can be a play on R1, but if between the bases, it will be a dead ball and the appropriate base awarded. All other play stands.
Why, you ask? Because the OBS did not affect R2 or BR, therefore there is no protection.