Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man
Never?
What about this play. R1 & R2. On a ground ball between first and second, F6 obstructs. Meanwhile, F4 scoops up the ball and tags out R1.
Why should R1 be safe when she was never obstructed and the obstruction never affected where she ended up?
|
If you are suggesting this ciolates the suggestion to "not reward the defensive team for commiting obstruction" you are missing the point.
(Assuming you messed up your R1 and R2 or are an NCAA umpire))
You are saying that the obstruction occurred by F6 obstructing the runner going from 2nd to 3rd (actually R1 in most SB descriptions-except NCAA) AND that R2 was tagged by F4 between 1st and 2nd?
If so, the tag of R2 had nothing to do with the obstruction, so she is out. The defense is not being "rewarded" with an out they would not have gotten. R2 was dead meat no matter what.