View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2012, 04:55am
UmpireErnie UmpireErnie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
So how does NCAA SB interpret past or passed? It matters does it not?
Sadly we have no NCAA ball here in The Last Frontier but I believe this is the same in ASA and NFHS as NCAA.. yes the ball is clearly past F3 so the ball hitting the runner would be ok.. unless the umpire judges that another fielder had a chance to make a play. Then if untouched batted ball hits a runner we still have int.

Having seen the replay I believe this is what B1 called and I think it's a great call. I am going to give the benifit of the doubt to B1 that he did actually see the other fielder coming in to have a play and that's why he make it. I am not convinced we can tell from TV what was and was not in his field of vision.
Reply With Quote