View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 11:44pm
thumpferee thumpferee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Coach interference - Judgement - not automatic. Hint of an intent requirement but not actually stated.

3.15 PLAY: Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach. The batter-runner finally ends up on third base. Whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach is up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the coach was attempting to make it appear that he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference.
Is this some type of example to the play being discussed?

I hope not because, IMO it's nowhere near the same situation. Am I missing something?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote