Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
It may also depend on what it means to be past the fielder or "passed the fielder".
If there was no other fielder with a play then:
In OBR baseball passed means within reach so it's an out because it wasn't within reach of the fielder.
In FED baseball it's not an out because it was past (behind) the fielder.
I don't know what NCAA SB uses but it's something you have to check before a rush to judgement or a bad call.
|
I know the OBR interpretation. I know the FED baseball interpretation. Of course, neither would apply here.
Note that I did refer to the NCAA rule book before posting. To answer my own question, what I was missing was the shot with F4 sliding in behind the runner with an apparent play on the ball.