View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2012, 09:10am
jump stop jump stop is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellothere View Post
hi everybody!

we had an argue on the playground (playing in spain so no nba rules)...

here is the situation:

i am dribbling to the basket and land on both feet simultaneously while catching the ball in the air...so according to NCAA rules (and the FIBA rules as well, as i understand) i can choose my pivot foot freely...therefore it is my understanding of the rules that i can take another step with either foot, jump off this step and release the ball for a field goal attempt before the (now chosen) pivot foot returns to the floor...

just wanted to know if that's correct...

thanks a lot!!
I made a video demonstating the jump stop , pivot foot and traveling. Let me know if this helps
Jump stop rule - YouTube
Reply With Quote