View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2012, 11:08am
Mountaincoach Mountaincoach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 131
Yes I agree the obstruction would have negated the rest of the play if it happened before the base tag. But it pretty much happened simultaneously, so the umpire made a judgement call and called the force out at third.

Coincidentally, I just had a guy walk into my workplace who's been a little league umpire for about 10 years. I mentioned the play to him and he brought up another point that I'm not so sure about. In the play, both F5 and F6 charged the ball. After F5 beat F6 to the ball, F6 ran back toward his playing area and collided with my runner. The guy I just talked to said that was NOT obstruction BECAUSE F6 could have theoretically been trying to make a play at second considering R1 was coming to second (even though F5 was making an unassisted play at third at the time with the ball in his glove). I'm not so sure about that.....

Last edited by Mountaincoach; Fri May 04, 2012 at 11:10am.
Reply With Quote