1. I thought the wind-up made this a FF1. It wasn't simply an attempt to block the shot. It was an attempt to give the "hard foul".
2. I don't know why they didn't review it.
Because. . .
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I could go with a FF1 but remember you CANNOT upgrade to a FF1 with video review. You have to make that decision on the court before going to the monitor.
|
This is incorrect. The replay rules specifically allow the officials to use the monitor to determine if a flagrant foul has occurred, whether or not a foul (of any kind) was called on the play.
NCAA 2-13.2d: Officials may use courtside monitor equipment in the following situations:
Quote:
d. Determine if a contact flagrant foul occurred. When it is determined that a contact flagrant foul did not occur but an intentional [sic] personal, (men) contact dead ball technical foul or (women) a player-substitute technical foul for dead ball contact did occur, those fouls shall be penalized accordingly. However, no other infractions may be penalized.
1. When there is a foul called for contact, the officials, with a plausible reason, may review the severity of that foul during the dead ball period following the call. When the ball becomes live, there shall be no further review of the made call.
2. When the officials fail to observe the foul, the time frame in 2-13.6 shall be used to penalize the infraction.
|
Aside from the incorrect wording of the "intentional" foul, which is simply an oversight by the editor, the rule says you can go to the monitor in the situation that occurred in the championship game. The officials, IMHO, should have at least reviewed it.