Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Not only was the net touched, it appears like the ball was touched.
It is certainly not impossible for such contact to affect the shot....I know I've seen a few that appeared to have been in yet popped back out.
|
I agree with this kind of call 100 percent if the ball pops out...but in the play above, it that what the real intent of the rule is? This is an area where the NBA rule is better
NBA Rules Book (2011-2012)
Rule 11
Section I—A Player Shall Not:
i. Touch the rim, net or ball while the ball is in the net, preventing it from clearing the basket.
I wonder how many officials actually do it that way though technically against NFHS/NCAA rules.