View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2012, 07:06am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
I don't think one can do this in NCAA -- and possibly NF either. (I recall a past NCAA interprtation that specifically stated an official's error in counting seconds could not be resolved by time elapsed on the game clock, unless a new interpretation has been issued in recent years).
Correct. I'm astounded by the number of officials in this thread recommending to use the game or shot clocks. The official must count!
That is not to say that one can't use the clocks to help guide your count and increase its accuracy, but an official can't just go by what is on the clocks without a physical count. That's not allowed by rule.


5.10.1 SITUATION B:
Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in

their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1's throw-in
pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official
does not make a 10-second call because he/she "lost the count."


RULING: The

game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do
this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There
is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in

counting seconds.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Mar 12, 2012 at 07:09am.
Reply With Quote