 
			
				Thu Mar 08, 2012, 12:16pm
			
			
			
		  
	 | 
	
		
		
		
			
			| 
				
				 Official Forum Member 
				
				
			 | 
			  | 
			
				
					Join Date: Aug 2001 
					Location: Sherman, TX 
					
					
						Posts: 4,387
					 
					
					
					
					
					     
				 
			 | 
		 
		 
		
	 | 
	
	
		
	
		
		
		
		
			
			
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  bucblue
					 
				 
				Ball hit to shortstop who is playing in, she boots it and ball hits runner, behind the shortstop and after she had made a play on ball.  No other infielder was in a position to make a play on the ball.  Field umpire called her out.  I am a baseball umpire, and in this sit, we have nothing, play on.  Is it different in softball?  Fed rules. 
 
By the way, after the game I visited with the plate umpire and asked for the interp.  He said that in softball, whenever a runner is hit by a batted ball, she is out, but a softball umpire I work with said the rule is the same as baseball.  Color me confused. 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 The PU's interp that "anytime a runner is hit with a batted ball" is completely erroneous.
		  
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
				Scott 
 
 
It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
			 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |