View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2012, 10:37am
David Emerling David Emerling is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
If pitcher drops the ball and it rolls across the foul line without without being touched all runners have already moved up at least one base.

Never seen it happen.
That is NEVER an answer to an umpire question, "I've never seen it happen."

Sometimes questions are constructed, not as a practical matter, but as an academic tool for understanding a rule.

So, if something unusual EVER happens in a game - something you've NEVER seen before - your ruling cannot be, "I've never seen that happen."

What if an outfielder, with runners on base and after fielding a fair ball that is hit into the corner of the field, picks it up and, instead of returning it to infield, PURPOSELY heaves it into the stands? I don't think I've ever seen that before, either. And yet, there IS a rule that applies for that.
Reply With Quote