View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 11:13pm
bd41flpk bd41flpk is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 68
Referee Mistake - not a correctable error

Scenario:

B1 commits a common foul on A1 which is Team B's 7th team foul. As the official is reporting the foul, B1 slams the ball to the floor and is assessed an un-sporting technical foul.

Referee's unfortunately assess the technical foul 1st and then realize that the 1:1 should be administered 1st.

Officials then administer the 1:1 w/no players on the line and the give team A the ball out of bounds at the division line.

Truth be told this is NOT a correctable error. but rather an 'official error' that is corrected as a result of doing the right thing.

Just wanted to check if this is the proper procedure, since the foul shots should have been administered in the 'order of occurrence'?

The results would seem an easy out; yet were the rules followed accordingly?

Opinions welcome.
Reply With Quote