View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 28, 2012, 09:57am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Great defense on the blocked shot!


But there was some contact after the shot that may have affected the safe landing that A1 is entitled to.
  • If that contact was too severe for you, then call a foul.
  • If you believe that A1 deserved a better landing, then call a foul.

B5's right arm on the follow-through struck A1's head/neck area which seemed to knock him off of his safe landing. There was no way A1 was going to land as he did if there was no contact from B5.

I can definitely see calling this a foul in JV. Varsity: perhaps it's 50-50, likely less. I would not expect a call in the NCAA, and there wasn't.

Me personally, I dislike it when there is contact to a player's head. It's just a pet peeve of mine, and I tend to protect shooters more when they are hit in the head.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Tue Feb 28, 2012 at 10:47am.
Reply With Quote