Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer
You'll have to forgive me if I'm wrong...couldn't one argue that if a player is attempting to block the ball, then he's not trying to get an initial legal position for the purpose of drawing a player control/charging foul? I thought the interpretation would be similar to the NBA's in that the RA doesn't apply in the NBA when a player makes a legitimate attempt to defend the shot (and jumping vertically would definitely fit that bill).
|
Perhaps you could make such an argument if the RA rule considered what a player was trying to do....but it doesn't. It only says a secondary defender can't have LGP while in the RA and any block/charge contact will be a block.
It was written with the player trying to draw the charge in mind, but they didn't qualify its use with what the player does.