Thread: Tonight's game
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2012, 03:16pm
Sharpshooternes Sharpshooternes is offline
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
I don't know what a dead run is, but B2 was running and caught the ball in stride from B1.

If they were playing football, it would have been a great pass from QB to receiver. Because B2 caught the ball outside the 3-point line, he couldn't dunk without a dribble, and therefore his foot movement was more restrictive.
The reason I ask is this: 4-44-2 states A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
b. If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot foot when the other foot touches in a step.(Not your scenario.)
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

So the point is if he is running and he catches the ball on his right foot then has neither on the ground and starts his dribble this should be legal as he has not established a pivot foot yet. He would be able to land on both feet (but not have a pivot) or start a dribble and continue moving. So was it really a travel?

Last edited by Sharpshooternes; Fri Feb 17, 2012 at 03:22pm.
Reply With Quote