Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
But this doesn't address my last post. They are not substituting. They are just putting her in without notifying you. Now you have an unreported sub.
In ASA the umpire does not have the authority to run on this until an appeal is made by the defense.
|
I disagree. This is a coach violating the rules of the game after you already informed the coach the attempted re-entry was illegal. Telling a coach their actions were illegal is the same as a "warning" of the same. If you discover that player attempting to return to the game, I will probably walk over to the coach and offer a reminder of the previous conversation and the opportunity to put a legal substitute in place or play shorthanded, if that is available. If the player is already in the game........forfeiting the game is not beyond the realm of appropriate action.
And for those who want to bring in the "protest" into play, I'm not acting on 4.6.F.4, but 5.4.F. We are not talking about a "gotcha" type of rule, but a coach who, after being told his actions would be a rule violation willfully and with full intent repeated that action.
Don't want to, but this is why I stopped him/her the first time. This isn't an "oh, I forget" or "sorry, I didn't know" situation, this guy/gal blatantly cheated not only the opponent, but his own team.