Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
ASA SP Game
Bottom 7th, tying run on 3B, 2 outs and the batter has a 2-2 count.
The pitch is ruled illegal by PU, but batter offers at and tops the pitch. The ball rolls in four territory near the first base line. F3 figures it is a foul ball and heads for the dugout while B4 heads toward 1B and R1 scores.
F1 notices the topspin is bringing the ball back toward the line and throws his glove and hits the ball to keep it from entering fair territory.
What's the call??????
|
SP - Foul ball. Batter is out. Game is over.
FP - Foul ball. Grey has it right. Offense get's choice of play or illegal pitch. Assuming manager is not an idiot, s/he opts for the illegal pitch penalty. R1 scores to tie game and B4 now has a 3-2 count on her. Of course, the manager may think there is a penalty for throwing the glove and insist on the play. I may not lay it all out for them, but I will question their judgment.
There is no rule for contacting a foul ball with detached equipment in ASA.