View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2012, 07:22pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
If you think the illegal contact occurred before the horn sounded, then yes you need to report it.

If you think the contact occurred after the horn then you must consider it intentional or flagrant thus it will be a technical foul.

By the way you wrote it in the OP, sounds like just a personal foul; therefore, report it.
It's not that the official must consider the contact to be intentional or flagrant after the horn (dead ball in this case without a try), it's that UNLESS the official judges the contact to be intentional or flagrant, it is to be ignored by rule.

I'm hoping that is what you meant, but just didn't write it very clearly.
Reply With Quote