View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2012, 01:25pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
If that was the 'wrong' time, when, in your opinion, would've been the 'right' time?


Three points:
1) Brady was still in the tackle box when the pass was thrown.

2) The pass was thrown as a Giant's D-lineman (Tuck?) was about to sack him.

3) The pass was thrown into an area where there were no eligible receivers.

Combine all three, and that makes intentional grounding the correct call in the NFL ruleset.

Change any of those three points, and it's not IG:
1) if he had left the tackle box it would've been no intentional grounding, even if he returned to the tackle box prior to throwing the pass.

2) if there was nobody close to sacking him, you could make a case for a "wrong route", since in that case the pass would've NOT obviously been thrown to "conserve yardage" or "conserve time". Obviously not the case here.

3) If there's an eligible receiver in the area, obviously there's no IG.
Those guys were threading passes so precisely all night, no way he inadvertently misses by that much on that play....he threw it over the top on purpose.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote