...see what you started
COACH DJ!
Getting here late...but just had to post.
I got a call from my assigner to call the AD of the school that this situation actually happened to! The AD wanted an explanation...(his coach actually pointed out that the opposing player playing had already fouled out)...and he wasn't sure it was administered correctly.
I hate to say...but, it was not administered correctly.
As one poster said..."this situation does not happen often"... so I have some "forgiveness" in my heart for the 3 whistle crew on this game.
The R that was on the game is a good Varsity Official...the U1 and U2 are up and comers. (in fact the R for that game was on our 3 whistle crew last night officiating a game with the number 1 rated 4A team in the state....Davis vs. Richland)
What happened?
Home Team player A1 had received his 5th foul. The book did NOT notify the officials...therefore, they did not notify the Home Coach.
In the 4th quarter...Visitor Team player B1 fouled A2 in the act of shooting....ball went in. A2 gets one shot.
As the players were lining up... V Coach told officials that he thought A1 had already fouled out. (He was correct)
Officials got together, and assesed H Coach an INDIRECT T.
Officials lined up V player to shoot 2 Technical foul shots...then they lined up H player, A2, to shoot his one foul shot. (They later said they thought it was a POI deal)
They now know they got it wrong. So they OWN that rule now!
They now know they should NOT have assesed a T to the Coach...and if they did (if he had been notified of the disqualification) then it would have been a DIRECT T not and INDIRECT T. (And since he already had a DIRECT T HE WOULD HAVE BEEN EJECTED)
They also know they shot the FT's in the wrong order.(If there were to be T FT's)
The "and 1" with the lane cleared...then go shoot the 2 T FT's for V team, lane cleared, ball at division line.
There shouldn't have been T FT's though...so just get the player out (that had 5 fouls) and shoot the "and 1" with players in the lane.
Visiting Team won by 2 or 3 points...they made one of two on the T FT's.
It was a cluster...but, as I said...these guys own that rule now.
DJ...is that about what you heard happened?
sidenote: DJ's dad is an assistant on the V Team and he probably has no idea who "RookieDude" is...