Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnNucatola
Interesting situation at end of a one point Illinois victory. With only seconds remaining, shot by MSU for win bounces off rim and goes to corner of court, where it is recoved by ILL player. MSU player ties up ILL player and two officials call jump ball as buzzer goes off. Replays indicate that MSU player was OOB while tying up ILL player.
So they went to monitor unaware that MSU was OOB and ruled jump ball was called after game was over.
What if they went to monitor and ruled time was left on clock. I do not believe they can reverse the jump ball call even if they could clearly see it on the replay. AP would have gone to MSU.
|
They would not have been able to reverse the jump ball since they didn't make a ruling on the status of the MSU player. All they were permitted to use the monitor for in that sitaution was to determine whether a whistle was blown for a jump ball before time expired.