View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2012, 09:49pm
JetMetFan JetMetFan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by learningrules View Post
Watching Pitt Syracuse game. Player gets fouled shooting a 3 and makes the first free throw. After the first free throw the officials go to the monitor to determine if the player was shooting a 2 or a 3 when fouled. Was it legal for the officials to use the monitor after a free throw had already been taken?
From what I can tell in the rule book, yes.

It's not laid out in the rule/case book as to what happens after the first free throw in a sequence is shot but my thought is this falls under 2-12-1a: they were trying to avoid a situation where Team A would not have received a merited free throw. If that's the case then they were well within the guidelines for dealing with a correctable error since the situation can be corrected until the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
Reply With Quote