Thread: Bobbled pass
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 11:13am
jdw3018 jdw3018 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by drofficial View Post
I have seen numerous veteran officials call a travel when a player bobbles a pass. I want to confirm that this play is NOT a travel. A player, by definition of the rule, cannot travel without possession of the ball. Yes, it looks funny. But its simply not a travel, correct?
Correct.

And all kinds of things are called travels that are not. Until a player possesses the ball, a travel is not possible.

I once had a coach, after I didn't call a travel in a situation like this where a player bobbled the ball, ask me if a player could go the entire length of the court like that. I said, "Absolutely." He looked at me dumbfounded. I then added, "As long as he isn't purposefully batting the ball to himself." He seemed slightly less confused, but no less miffed.
Reply With Quote