View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2012, 11:25am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
IAABO, Not Necessarily NFHS ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The NFHS removed that Case Play several years ago without comment.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
10.6.1 SITUATION E: B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down. (7-4-1, 2)

4-23-1
Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This casebook play last appeared in the 2004-05 NFHS casebook. Anybody know why is was removed in 2005-06?
I asked my local interpreter about this play. Here's what he discovered, and note that these are IAABO interpretations, not NFHS interpretations:

"The fact that such casebook play was removed in 2005 edition should be a message to you that that "interpretation" in 2004 was incorrect and no longer applies. This is not about NCAA vs. NFHS as they have same interpretation. The 2004 casebook rule reference is also incorrect. It should have been 4.7.1 and 2. Just to be certain, I checked with the IAABO office and here is the response I received:

"B-1 is not in legal guarding position. Is it legal for a player to fall to the floor (provided he/she was not holding the ball) or to lay on the floor? Yes. However, it is not a legal position when contact, beyond incidental to the play, occurs. Ruling for the situation which you describe is a foul on B-1. Rule Reference 4.23.1.""

So you don't have to look them up:

4-7-1: Blocking is illegal personal contact which impedes the progress of
an opponent with or without the ball.

4-23-1: Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an
offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance required between the guard
and opponent, but the maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded. Every player is
entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first
without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who extends an arm, shoulder,
hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position
if contact occurs.

Talk amongst yourselves.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote