View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 10:43pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Another scenario that I am still working my way thru is when there is contact in the lane under the basket where B1 is holding is spot and is vertical and A1 shoots and contact occurs with B1. (Not driving to hoop just underneat

I have called a foul in many cases on B1 but have been told since A1 initiated contact and B1 was holding his spot..no call.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Why would you call a foul on B1? Ask yourself what he did wrong, and remember what the rules allow B1 to do. This should be a no-call, as B1 is perfectly legal and A1 jumping into him doesn't change that.
I'm not necessarily big on who initiates the contact. If the defender has his arms extended outside his vertical plane, then A1 is legally entitled to that space. If he initiates contact, so what? It's still a foul on B1.

I get kids behind the shooter all the time that "claim" they have verticality, yet the contact the shooter on the arms on the shot. I've yet to figure out how that's possible from behind A1. Foul.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote