View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:57am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT View Post
Ball being dribbled up the floor in the back court and is passed toward the front court. His teammate jumps from the front court, catches the ball in the air and he ends up landing in the back court. Is this a BC violation or not? I am thinking no because all 3 points (both feet and the ball) did not yet make it into the front court, therefore we cannot have a back court violation.

Rule reference would be great

Thanks!
It's possible that you're asking the question because you know there are circumstances where the above action by "the teammate" is not a backcourt violation. Those circumstances are found in Rule 9, Section 9, Article 3:

9-9-3: During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote