View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2012, 09:20am
tjones1 tjones1 is offline
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Correct. One used to have to find this in the Simplified & Illustrated book, but this ruling was actually put into the Case Book in 2008-09 as 8.3

8.3 SITUATION:
A technical foul is issued prior to the start of the game and the
game begins with free throws. Non-starter, A6, is brought in to the game to attempt
the free throws and replaces starter A5.
RULING: Legal substitute. The ball
becomes live to start the game when placed at A6’s disposal. A6 and A5 are subject
to proper substitution rules. A5 may not re-enter until the next opportunity to

substitute after the clock has been properly started. (3-2-2a; 3-3-4)
Thanks, NV. I knew it was in the Case somewhere... just have kept reading - I wasn't too far off.
Reply With Quote