View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 18, 2011, 11:16pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Girls varsity tonight. A1 is on floor( I can't remember how she got there, loose ball and she recovered probably) holding ball while on her back defenders are reaching down trying to grab ball. A1 swings arms from side to side slightly rolling from side to side(let's call it one cheek up if you will) Shoulders turning almost perpendicular to floor to give you a visual.

I call travel. Coach disagrees, I tell him it's a travel by rule he tells me no it isn't.

'A player while on his/her back may pass shoot dribble or call a timeout. He/she may not roll over' per casebook4-44-5b is all I could find. is the act of rolling travelling? Is rolling over just that, rolling over? I couldn't find anything else to support my case, so did I kick it? I felt the girl was gaining an advantage from rocking from side to side.

Clearly, it may be a 'I have to see it' moment. Is the fact she was rolling enough to justify my call?

Bring it on, I promised to email coach ruling and I may have to choose fried, poached or scrambled egg on my face.

I will say, I've never had my judgement questioned before in this situation on many levels of ball.
Unless she rolls from her back to her side, I have nothing.

And there's no such thing as a pivot cheeck, no matter what MTD and Billy Mac think.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote