View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2003, 12:38pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by APHP
Some are saying that player control does not begin with the dribble--o.k.--fine! Then when does player control begin.
I don't think anyone would say that there's no player control during the dribble. But to answer your question, I would say that the official has to judge when the player is actually dribbling, as opposed to simply hitting the ball away. If the bat is a dribble, then control starts with the bat (since in this particular case "bat" = "dribble").

But since "bat" does not always equal "dribble", I'm not sure that helps in the original situation.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote