View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 09, 2011, 03:28pm
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
This is just my opinion, Billy (and the reason I started the thread), but I don't think you needed a case play prior to this year. The rule specifically said that the exception applied to a player from the "team not in control". To me, that explicitly means that if your team doesn't have team control, the exception applies to you.
The previous rule reads... a player from "the team not in control" followed by in parenthesis (defensive player). The corresponding casebook play that I remember was the one I mentioned earlier where the defensive player may jump from his FC, intercept, and land in BC. Casebook 9.9.1 D may offer some insight. When A's throw-in pass is deflected by B1 neither team has team control for purposes of backcourt violations, yet when A2 gains control in the air coming from the FC and lands in BC it is a violation. My thinking was it is (and has been) the same following a missed shot.
Reply With Quote