View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 09, 2011, 01:33pm
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
As I was reviewing my pre-season test, I noticed another change to Rule 9-9 that I don't think has been mentioned. 9-9-3 provides the exception in certain circumstances for an airborne player to jump from his/her own frontcourt, secure the ball and land in the backcourt.

Prior to this year, it was stated that a player from the "team not in control" was given this exception, and then it provided three examples -- during the jump ball, throw-in or while on defense. Now, however, only the examples remain in the rule. The phrase "team not in control" was deleted.

Is this a big deal? It changes at least one play that I can think of (because it was on the exam):



Previously, A3 would have been covered by the exception in 9-9-3. But since A3 is not on defense, and this is not a jump ball or throw-in, the exception (as written) no longer applies.

How many ways can you screw up one rule?????
Scrapper, are you sure A3 previously would have been covered by the exception? If Team A's missed shot ends up in their backcourt Team A can retrieve it without penalty; but when A3 jumps from his FC and catches the ball team control has been re-established and it is a violation when he lands in his BC. I don't think that's ever been regarded as an exception.
Reply With Quote