This happened at least 5 times in OHSAA Finals!
7.5.2 SITUATION C: Quarterback A1 drops back to pass and while under a good
defensive rush, he throws the ball forward: (a) at the feet of two onrushing defensive
linemen; or (b) 15 yards behind A3 who has run a deep post pattern; or (c)
5 to 10 feet over the head of eligible A3 who lined up near a sideline. RULING:
Illegal forward pass in (a). In (b) and (c), the referee will have to judge whether
the pass was intentionally thrown incomplete or whether A1 was simply unable
to throw the ball close to A3. COMMENT: Some factors to look for in making an
intentional-grounding decision are absence of eligible offensive receivers in the
area and the “dumping” to avoid loss of distance. The ability and skill of the passer
and the pressure of the defense are also factors to consider. (7-5-2d)
It was not called once!
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
|