View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 10:16pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
I know we may have been through this before, but can you clarify for me again the correct interpretation for this apparent conundrum? (I searched but couldn't find the thread from before)...

9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control in the frontcourt if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

9.9.1C(a): A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt, A2 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: It is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court.

If, in the casebook sitch, "touches the ball" suggests no player control established in the frontcourt, both cannot be correct, can they? Please reiterate for me whether we're following the Rulebook or the Casebook on this one.

The Casebook Play is "the fly in the ointment". Why? Because the Casebook Ruling cannot be defended by rule. Tony, Daryl (H. Long) and I noticed this over a month ago. The NFHS Basektball Rules Committee screwed up and just saying the sky is green when it really is blue does not make it so.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote