Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren
Look at 6-4-4 and 4-42-5.
6-4-4 the direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5.
4-42-5 c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
Consequently, a kick ball by team A doesn't end Team A's alternating possession throw in. So they don't lose the arrow. They keep the arrow, but team B gets the throw-in for the kick ball violation.
6-4-5 The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates.
As the other rules help us interpret what violations are being referred to, we can deduce from 4-42-5 c that it's only throw-in violations.
|
Case Book 6.4.5 Situation A.
4-42-5 tells us how a throw-in ends. If an A/P throw-in ends we reverse the arrow. But that is not the only time we reverse the arrow. 6-4-5 gives us another time. The Case Book play 6.4.5A even tells us that a violation by Team A during an A/P throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure.
If the throw-in ends as described in 4-42-5 then they used their opportunity and they did not lose it. 6-4-5 is a way (and the only way) to lose the arrow without completing the throw-in.