View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 26, 2011, 02:01pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
No, of course not. That's why he's making the lame excuse of "there's a powerpoint."

....

There's nothing in the rule book to support what you're saying. It makes no difference what they said in a Powerpoint presentation, the rule book has the final say.

Until they make a change regarding when team control ends, Team A still has team control in the OP.
While I would like to agree with you, the rule book also has a phrase about knowing the INTENT and PURPOSE of a rule. No matter what the printed rule says, the NFHS has published their intent of what they meant it to say.

By the letter of the rule, the situation I posted above would be a backcourt violation, a 3 second count would start as soon as the ball is tipped or bounces inbounds in the frontcourt, and all sorts of other stuff would also occur when the ball bounces. But it doesn't.

They've told us in no uncertain terms that the only part of team control that begins with the throwin is the part that affects fouls and everything else that depends on team control still works the way it did before...when a player inbounds gains player control.

I agree 100% that the RULE as written doesn't say that, but again, they've told us that is not what they meant it to say.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote