View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2011, 09:54am
dsqrddgd909 dsqrddgd909 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial View Post
I was observing last night for our state mechanics meeting and this is what happened:

Opening tip of the game. Official throws the ball up and the girl who is jumping for the white team jumps back completely out of the circle after the ball has left the officials hand. The other girl jumping for the tip, tips the ball right to the girl who just jumped out of the circle. The girl out of the circle catches the ball and passes it for an easy lay up.

I was more shocked that this girl had planned to do this.

Is there anything that says a player who is in the center circle for the opening tip off cannot catch a tipped ball if she/he is outside of the center circle when they catch it?

Rule reference please if available
6-3-7
ART. 7

Neither jumper shall:

a. Touch the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point.

b. Leave the center restraining circle until the ball has been touched.

c. Catch the jump ball.

d. Touch the ball more than twice.
Reply With Quote