View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2011, 01:19pm
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtridge View Post
Does a down begin at the ready or when it is snapped?, I could not find clear answer in rule book.

Also the background to this question is the whole New Mexico mess where the refs started the clock after a penalty. I saw this argument but I'm not convinced

: Rule 3-3-3 -Me: I was. ... 3-3-3 A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last time down of the period there was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted

the argument made was that since there was a penalty on the last play of the game the game should have been at least extended one untimed down.

However, if a down starts at the ready and no at the snap then there was no penalty during the last time down and therefore the situation was handled correctly.
Down starts by snap or free kick.
Reply With Quote