View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2011, 11:58am
bcl1127 bcl1127 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
red #39 is pulling the pile!
It is not illegal because he is on defense, but he is pulling the pile!

There should be a flag on this play though and most of you would not throw it. More than one A player is pushing the pile and helping the runner.

That is the spirit of the rule.
The rule is the rule as written in the rule book, you have no idea what the "spirit" of the rule is. No one was directly helping the runner, thus no flag, I would hope no official would throw a flag on this play as there is no reason for one.
Reply With Quote