View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2011, 10:27am
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
request a time out

Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Had an interesting thought last night while I was reading over the FED free-throw rules.

Team A calls a timeout.
During the time-out, Team B commits a technical foul.
Team A does not make a player available to shoot the free throws, so the Lead places the ball on the free throw line under the resumption-of-play procedure.

Is there any way that A can actually shoot the free throw once the resumption-of-play procedure has been initiated in this situation? If A1 enters the semi-circle, it's a violation, isn't it?

Taking it a bit further... if/when the violation on A occurs in the situation above, if A doesn't make a player available for the second free throw, it's a technical foul. Does B get two free throws in that situation, or do they not because we have a double technical foul situation?
Team A can avoid the violation by requesting a timeout.
Reply With Quote