View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 10:13am
BayStateRef BayStateRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree with this.

And, there are two quesions (at least) on the test:

A Flagrant 2 Contact T can occur during a live ball (I have False)

A Flagrant 2 Personal can occur during a dead ball (I have True).

I'm "sure" those are the correct interps -- but they (especially the latter) don't seem to quite jibe with the written rule.
You might want to reconsider one of your answers.

The reality, though, is that one of them is correct (a Flagrant 2 contact technical foul can only be during a dead ball) and one is not -- despite the language of the definition: "A flagrant 2 personal foul (occurs) while the ball is live."

The exception for the flagrant 2 contact technical is, indeed, misplaced.

When an airborne shooter commits a flagrant foul after the ball is dead (as after a dunk, but before returning to the floor), the exception says that is not a technical foul. But it is a flagrant personal foul for contact during a dead ball, which Rule 29-2.6.d says is not possible.

I think the test wants an "exact knowledge" of the printed definition.

Last edited by BayStateRef; Sat Oct 22, 2011 at 10:37am.
Reply With Quote