Buckeye,
We face this question over-and-over.
I will make the following statements:
A Right handed pitcher can throw to first base without disengaging. That is, and always has been, legal.
Don't fall for the arguement that a righthander can do anything that a lefthander can . . . that is a false statement. A right hander is limited by the same rules and interpretations that a left handers is IF the lefthander is throwing to THIRD base. Yes, I know that the lefty does not HAVE to throw to third. I am talking about the move you are asking about.
In OBR, according to Rick Roder, the move you have described is considered TWO separate movements and therefore is a balk. According to Rick as soon as the front foot leaves the ground the NEXT movement must be to first base or he forgoes that opportunity.
You can find a discussion about this move in Referee Magazine from a couple of years ago.
Now before this gets too far a field I want to make it clear that this has nothing to do with "jump turns" or "jab steps" this is a simple move that EVERYONE would call a balk if they saw it . . . part of the problem lies in the use of the written word rather than seeing something happen.
As you we were taught "as soon as the righthander's foot comes off the ground take-off" -- while we know that isn't EXACTLY true the play you have described is a balk at all levels (OBR, FED, NCAA).
Let the detractors attack. I have my life jacket on . . .
Tee
|