I was doing a 12 yr select game one time with a R2 only We had a CI and I advanced the runner to 3B as from behind the plate it looked like trying a steal. Most likely the reason for the interference. The batter hit a little dribbler to F4 and was out on the play. After calling time, I gave the offense their option on the play. Naturally they took runners at 3B and 1B. The defense was certain that R2 had to return to 2B as the ball became dead on the play.
He was cordial about it. No big demonstration. Later on his wife returned to the field with a rule book. He came to me between innings with it and pointed out the rule citation in Rule 7. I then took the book from him and flipped to Rule 6.
I got a thank you very much, and now I know for sure.
|