Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Team A has team control in their backcourt. A1, dribbling, has player control in the backcourt. A1 throws a pass ahead to A2, who is in the frontcourt, and who is not expecting the pass. The passed ball hits A2 in the back of the head (thus, he is neither holding, nor, is he dribbling the ball, so no player control), the ball bounces off of A2's head, bounces into the backcourt, and the ball is picked up by A3, who is now holding the ball.
According to just another ref's definition above, this is not a backcourt violation.
Man, I'm confused, and I haven't even started my weekend "bender".
|
While that IS what the rule says, they NFHS has also stated that the only effect of the new rule is to be whether you shoot FTs or not when a foul occurs during a throwin. They have, once again, create a rule change that, as written, means something entirely different than what they say it is suppose to do.