Quote:
Originally Posted by Linknblue
In the situation I described the coach didn't run out onto the field. He went to the PU, had some sort of discussion, then came out to me. This was all after the play was over. The coach did nothing wrong, he was by the book as far as I was concerned.
|
Here's where I differ (admitting completely that I was not actually there and you were!)...
You can't get to the PU without running "out onto the field". This does not mean within fair territory or anything of the sort. Was he out of the dugout? Yes? Then yes, he was "out onto the field".
Quote:
Once again, "in my mind" at the time I felt the play was over as soon as I called the out at 1st. I then turned and saw runner going off the field toward 1st base dugout (play in actuality was still live but my mindset was it was over). I told her as she passed "No, you weren't out, go back." She did and it was then when I'm sure the coach came out and went to PU. Did he request time, don't know, but a discussion started with PU.
|
So if you're saying he waited until play was actually over (and not just when you thought it was ... but when it REALLY was over), then he's fine - but I strongly believe that as described you could not possibly have LBR violation.
If you still do, forget the coach, and assume the pitcher received the ball very quickly after the play at first and held it in the circle. Describe to us what part of the rule you think she may have broken. Specifically. IOW - "She stopped twice while the pitcher had the ball" or whatever.
Truly, I think there's zero chance you guys missed one here, even with the admitted inattentiveness. The plus here is that the next time, A) you won't tell the player what to do and B) you (and partner) will be more aware of exactly when the pitcher got the ball and who is doing what at that moment.